Beaters

Ooooh, these get the gas face

Ooooh, these get the gas face

Beaters. Sneakers get old, so everyone undoubtedly has a pair (deny it). The issue is when and where you rock your Beaters. I hate to judge, but it’s really interesting to see what people will actually wear out and about.

These Adidas Superstars up top are a classic shoe and probably looked fresh for my man at one point. But the faded white, the grimy sole and the distorted shape are all clear signs that it’s time to swap them out. Rocking them with pale yellow jeans doesn’t exactly help.  Keep reading for more Beaters.

I like Air Max 95s, but...

I like Air Max 95s, but...

Air Max 95s are one of my all time favorites – the original colorway is beautiful – but these shoes don’t quite make it. The colorway is unflattering, and when you throw in the dirty soles and faded colors, it’s time to retire these.

Nike Presto ?????

Nike Presto ?????

Are these called the Presto Cage? I vaguely remember these from 2000.

I’m talking a little bit of trash, so you know what I’m going to do, I’m going to photograph all of my own Beaters (shoes that should probably be discarded but have managed to stick around) and post them. Send me pictures of your own Beaters, and we’ll decide which pair is most in need of being retired. And then they will be burned.

thestreetsneak@gmail.com

2 Responses to “Beaters”


  1. 1 elephant 08/04/2009 at 3:45 pm

    Don’t forget about Vintage series, e.g. from Nike. They look like little worn out even whey they are fresh on the shelf in shop… Personally I don’t like them, but surely they are some people who are into them.

  2. 2 streetsneak 08/04/2009 at 4:10 pm

    That’s a good call…I forgot about the vintage series that Nike was doing. Are they still making those? I remember seeing vintage worn out Nike Cortez and wondering why people would buy them.

    I think they were catered more towards the non sneaker heads who wanted a nice worn in shoe. I actually know people who prefer the look of their sneakers after they get a little beat up.


Leave a Reply

